Stage One Winners Advance to Next Stage of Badges for Lifelong Learning Competition

December 7, 2011

December 5, 2011—The HASTAC/MacArthur Foundation Badges for Lifelong Learning Competition today announced the 60 winners of Stage One of the Competition. For the list of winners, see  The Competition is held in collaboration with the Mozilla Foundation, and is part of the 4th Digital Media and Learning Competition funded by the MacArthur Foundation and administered by HASTAC.  The Badges for Lifelong Learning Competition is designed to encourage the creation of digital badges and badge systems that support, identify, recognize, measure, and account for new skills, competencies, knowledge, and achievements for 21st century learners wherever and whenever learning takes place.

Stage One applicants were asked to submit ideas for compelling learning content, activities, or programs for which a badge or set of badges would be useful for recognizing learning that takes place in a particular area or topic. Winning applications represent a wide array of public and private institutions and organizations from around the world, including museums, non-profits, after-school programs, research institutions and for-profit companies. Proposed content for badge systems address a breadth of topics—from the promotion of civic engagement and community volunteerism, to STEAM (science, technology, engineering, arts, and mathematics) learning in and out of the classroom, to digital literacy, to workforce preparedness and beyond. Winning applications are available for public perusal and commenting at

Based on response in Stage Two, winners of Stage One may be paired with winning badge design/technology teams for the opportunity to work collaboratively on developing a badge system to be judged in Stage Three. Stage Two, which seeks badge system design and tech proposals that respond to Stage One winning content or content from one of the Competition’s official Collaborators—including the Department of Education, the Department of Veteran Affairs, Microsoft, Intel, NASA, the American Library Association and more–opens on December 12, 2011. Full information can be found at

Stage One Winners:

Jodi Asbell-Clarke, TERC, Canada
The Arcadia Badge Program: Measuring High-School Science Through Games
Steven Atneosen, DebateHall, United States
DebateHall DML Competition
Michelle Aubrecht, Ohio State University, United States
Meet the Earthworks Builders
Michelle Baldwin, Hands on Atlanta, United States
Hands on Atlanta Volunteer Service Badge Program
Jennifer Schwarz Ballard, Chicago Botanic Garden, United States
Chicago for Youth Excellence in the Sciences (Chicago YES)
John Bell, ICD, University of Maine, United States
Innovative Communication Design Badges
Jesse Blom, Sweet Water Foundation Inc., United States
Sweet Water Aquapons (AQUAPONS)
Michael Braithwaite, Providence After School Alliance (PASA), United States
Pathways for Lifelong Learning
Rebecca Bray, Smithsonian Institution – NMNH, United States
Smithsonian Natural History Badges
Kaye Buchman, The School of the Art Institute of Chicago, United States
Design Mind · 2Design
Michael Capobianco, MOUSE Inc., United States
MOUSE Wins! Badge-based Achievement System for National Youth Technology Leadership
Jeanne Century, Center for Elementary Mathematics and Science Education, Physical Sciences Division, University of Chicago, United States
OurPlayground: Come Play With the World
Tara Chklovski, Iridescent, United States
The Curiosity Machine
Jean-Philippe Choinière, Scolab, Canada
Ruth Cohen, American Museum of Natural History, United States
American Museum of Natural History: Badges for Science Literacy and Identity
Bill Dahl, PlantingScience/Botanical Society of America, United States
DigitalMe, DigitalMe, Great Britain
S2R Badges
Angela Elkordy, Eastern Michigan University, United States
Lucy Erickson, Chimp-n-Sea Wildlife Conservation Fund, Great Britain
Virtual Ecotourism
Michael Furdyk, TakingITGlobal, Canada
David Gagnon, ARIS Project – University of Wisconsin – Madison, United States
Stephen Gilman, Center for Creative Education, United States
Steve Goldenberg, Interfolio Inc., United States
Laura Gordon, WNET, United States
Kelly Gorman, Smithsonian Institution, Cooper-Hewitt, National Design Museum, United States
Diana Graber, CyberWise, United States
Tene’ Gray, Digital Youth Network, United States
Ian Guest, Sheffield High School, Great Britain
Susan Harris, University of Southern California Joint Educational Project, United States
Ross Higashi, Carnegie Mellon Robotics Academy, United States
Jude Higdon, University of Minnesota College of Pharmacy, United States
Marisa Jahn, People’s Production House, United States
Dolly Joseph, Computers4Kids, United States
Edward Keller, Parsons The New School For Design, School of Design Strategies, United States
Gene Koo, iCivics, Inc., United States
Denise LaBuda, Economic Independence Group, LLC, United States
Joey J. Lee, Teachers College, Columbia University, United States
Peter Levine, Tisch College, Tufts University, United States
Daniel Rees Lewis, Design for America, United States
Jeremy Liu, East Bay Asian Local Development Corporation, United States
Laurina Isabella Lyle, Project WET Foundation, United States
Bruce Mason, American Association of Physics Teachers, United States
Stephanie Norby, Smithsonian Center for Education & Museum Studies, United States
Joanna Normoyle, Agricultural Sustainability Institute at University of California, Davis, United States
Susi Owusu, 10:10, Great Britain
Brett Pierce, Steel River Productions, Inc., United States
Arun Prabhakaran, Urban Affairs Coalition, United States
Katie Rast, Fab Lab, United States
Justine Richardson, MATRIX/Michigan State University, United States
Jon Rosewell, The Open University, Great Britain
Richard Scullin,, United States
Eric Schwarz, Citizen Schools, United States
Deborah Sliter, National Environmental Education Foundation, United States
Jennifer Sly, Minnesota Historical Society, United States
Lonny Stern, STEM Council at Skillpoint Alliance, United States
Spencer Striker, University of Wisconsin at Whitewater, United States
Lora Taub-Pervizpour, Muhlenberg College, United States
Nancy Trautmann, Cornell Lab of Ornithology, United States
Maya Wiseman, Bottled City Project, Germany
Christopher Wisniewski, Museum of the Moving Image, United States
blog comments powered by Disqus